50 Things I do in my 50’s !

Photo by Anna Shvets on Pexels.com
  1. Trying to find my glasses when they are on my head
  2. Trying to make a picture bigger in a magazine because I do it on my smartphone
  3. Throwing away a food package only to try to retrieve it from the trash for the instructions
  4. Keeping clothes in the washer, forgetting, and then washing them again
  5. Drafting a text reply in my head but never actually doing it, but thinking I did
  6. Forgetting birthdays
  7. Forgetting names and trying to connect names to something I can remember and then calling them the name I connected them with
  8. Making grandiose plans in advance, but when the actual event comes, regretting it
  9. Waking up in the middle of the night, not wanting to pee, but then staying awake trying not to think of peeing
  10. Wrapping a gift and then unwrapping it because I forgot if I took the price tag off
  11. Having three alarms just to wake up once and sleeping through all of them
  12. Forgetting to put an ingredient in a baking recipe just as you put it into the oven, only to scrape it all back into the bowl and add the forgotten item
  13. Trying to cut down on salt and sugar in my cooking, then adding them back into the food at the table
  14. Saving all unnecessary plastic containers and having them fall on my head from the cupboards when I open it
  15. Taking a picture of labels or menus on my phone so I can enlarge it for better reading
  16. Being able to easily say no to things
  17. Consciously making physical and other routine tests/appointments and keeping to them
  18. Sleeping at 9:00 pm on a weeknight
  19. Eating dinner at 5:00 pm
  20. Seeing exercise as a daily form of medication
  21. Writing down birthdays, anniversaries, and important dates because now I cannot remember them
  22. Not getting bothered by problems as much as I did in my 30s and 40s, having a “come what may” attitude
  23. Not caring for friend drama and being able to easily walk away
  24. Seeing anxiety in myself and being able to talk myself out of it, knowing that half of my fears have never come true
  25. Keeping bits of favorite foods in the freezer for when my kids visit next
  26. Stopping drinking water at 6 pm
  27. Taking an OTC pain medication for an anticipated headache
  28. Becoming more paranoid about jinxing myself and knocking on wood, when I know it does not work
  29. Dressing too warm and then shedding layers as the day/night goes by
  30. Praying incessantly
  31. Avoiding driving at night
  32. Eating small amounts of spicy food to avoid acid and gas attacks
  33. Eating out and then complaining that I can make it better and cheaper at home
  34. Having a re-gift box
  35. Waking up with every joint hurting and shuffling out of bed
  36. Demanding good service at a fine restaurant
  37. Taking a new interest in hobbies I never had time for
  38. Navigating stairs cautiously to avoid a dreaded fall
  39. Going more than 15 minutes early to the movies or a concert, finding my seat and being ready for the show that almost never starts on time
  40. Writing a hundred lists for everything and keep rewriting them
  41. Becoming an hourly weather expert
  42. Depending on devices, Alexa or Siri, for alarms and reminders
  43. Calling my friends on the phone for long chats
  44. Looking up retirement locations for fun
  45. Telling everyone in my family, “I turned the stove off” before we leave the home
  46. Loving taking random, unplanned car rides with my spouse
  47. Writing my grocery list in the order of the shelving plan and aisles at the store
  48. Being aware of every new wrinkle on my face and every new gray hair on my head
  49. Worrying about balding
  50. Realizing that confidence is everything and asking for what I deserve

Leave a comment